top of page

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

4.2/5 stars

There isn’t much backstory to me getting this book sadly. Truly i piked it up because I liked the cover. I wouldn’t say I would purposely go out and look for this book if I happened to lose it…but it’s definitely a good read. I’ve read a bunch of book that I just felt Ike were a complete waste of time, and this, while not being that bad, wasn’t much better. It felt like I was watching one of those Tik Tok POV’s that have gotten pretty popular. Yes, i know this book came out about 10 years ago and it came out 2 years before Musial.ly was released, but still. Though, after a little research it seems this book came out right as social media started becoming popular.


Vee was getting sick of being in her best friends shadow all the time, always being the nervous friend. In a spur of the moment decisions she decides to download the Nerve app to attempt to break out of her shell, however; as the game becomes more intense she starts to regret her decision. It isn’t until the game become deadly does she see the true nature of her situation.


Character Development: 3.5 stars

Story Line: 4.5 stars

Readability: 4 stars

Writing style: 5 stars

My enjoyment: 4 stars

Average Star Score: 4.2 stars


Character Development

I feel like there wasn’t much development in the plot for the main character, which is the only reason I didn’t give this a great score. I couldn’t put a finger on Ian the entire book either. He just had a weird persona the entire time. I didn’t have any trust in him. I also didn’t relate to the main character at all, actually it was the side character, Sydney i related to the most. She felt the most realistic.


Story Line

Now, I didn’t give this five stars only because it felt very overdone. Especially being a teenager in 2022, and this is not the authors fault, however; I definitely knew what was going to happen before it happened. The storyline was quite predictable which was a little upsetting.


Readability

The book got slightly confusing at time, but only slightly. I very much enjoyed it despite this, just there were parts where I had no clue what was going on.


Writing Style

Jeanne as a very common writing style and I liked it. She put a very modern twist for a more futuristic book and it was quite nice. It made it slightly more relatable and real.


My Enjoyment

Again, it felt over done. I did. Enjoy it but it definitely wasn’t a favorite. I probably will never pick it up again and read it.


If I could make a time machine I would go back to when this book was released and read it then. I feel like it would have hit so much different,however; it was over done and just wasn’t as exciting as it could be. It is a nice read but definitely not one i would go out of my way to recommend.

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page