top of page

Stephanie Garber’s Caraval (Caraval #1)

4.7/5 stars

I’ve had this series for about a year now; however, I procrastinated and never actually wrote a review for it. I had heard so much about this series prior to getting it and it sounded right down my ally. I absolutely fell in love with the idea of a traveling circus that was full of puzzles. I have a really hard time finding books like this and when I first heard about this one I knew I had to get it.


Scarlett was stuck in the only life she knew. With her abusive father and rebel sister life was never easy. Every year she would write to the mysterious Legend and tell him of her wish to see his show. Her wish is granted and she must now travel off the only home she has ever had to find herself alone in a strange place not knowing whom to trust.


Character Development: 4.5 stars

Story Line: 5 stars

Readability: 4 stars

Writing style: 5 stars

My enjoyment: 5 stars

Average Star Score: 4.7 stars

Character Development

Garber did such a good job with these characters. It amazes me how she was able to create an entire backstory of the characters and easily blend it into the story. Scarlett and Tella also have this dynamic that i can’t say is great but it’s intriguing. I feel as if there is so much hatred between them but at the same time so much love.

Don’t even get me started on the performers. The fact that each of them are so developed and full of life is amazing. Any other who is able to flesh out every character the way Stephanie Garber does deserves an award. Each of them have a sense of mystery; however it is different for each of them. It truly is disturbing.


Story Line

Where do I start? Everything fits together beautifully. Scarlett’s flashbacks are perfect and shifts between scene to scene were smooth. I didn’t feel confused barely any. Everything just flows.

Readability

Defiantly a must read for many ages. The only reason that this category got 4 stars was because it is very easy to get lost in the story and confused. Other than that it isn’t very hard to understand the writing.

Writing Style

I personally am not the biggest fan of third person writing. It feels as if I am separated from the characters in a way. in spite of this, I fell in love with this story. I couldn’t imagine this book in first person. I feel the third person aspect really suits the style of the book.


My Enjoyment

Only one other book made me hate but love a character so much. Julian was just too much. I loved him way to much. The same thing happened to me in Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins. If you have read the book then you know exactly what I am talking about. This book is the reason I have trust issues (kidding). No one in this story is who they seem to be and it makes it more exciting. Everyone is a pawn.


I really am so happy I got to experience this book. I would completely suggest this book to anyone and everyone. It’s a work wind of emotions and thrills. Definitely one of the best books i have read.


*Trigger Warnings* Abuse

6 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page