top of page

Janelle Peel's Vampire Mage

Updated: Dec 14, 2020

Holy Crap. Holy crap. Holy freaking crap. This was a really good book. After I read the House of Night Series, I have been looking for a good vampire romance novel. I was scrolling through BookBub and stumbled across this book. Of course, after reading the summary, I had to get it. I loved this book. However, I do believe that I am just being very emotional about the book but you know what, WHO CARES SOUTH. As I was saying. If I was rating this book base on how it made me feel, I would give it 5 stars. However, I am going to have to give it three stars for the writing.

Sora was cast out by her own people because she didn't possess any magical powers. She is left on the streets to fend for herself. One night she "meets" Blaze, a vampire. He takes her blood and leaves her in a grassy spot. That chance meeting turns out to be much more. Can she be a mage and a vampire at the same time? What about Blaze? Can she love the one who turned her world upside down?

Things I Liked.

- I am a HUGE vampire fan so, of course, this book immediately appealed to me. It lived up to my (low) expectations. (I have not really found many good vampire books.)

- Sora is a very well developed character, with LOTS of character.

Things I Did Not Like

- It was confusing. The author would sometimes not mention who was talking and some details were left out.

- Viv and Sora were a little to similar for my liking.

- The book didn't feel completely original. I felt like I was reading City of Bones with Twilight, and (one of my favorite books that I have reviewed) Saved by a Spell.

It is a great book if you can overlook these minor difficulties.

6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page