top of page

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

5/5 stars

I grew up with this book. I remember my second grade teacher loved this book so much and she read it to us at the end of the school year. Ever since then anytime I would see it in a library I would pick it up and read it. I have so many memories containing this author and really this book is her best in my opinion.


Annemarie and Ellen were the best of friends. Even through the hardships of 1943 in Denmark they remained joyful. This is until the Germans begin to relocate the Jews. Ellen must hide but this scares Annemarie. She lives as her sister until matter get worse. They have to save all of the Jews and send them across the ocean to Poland. In an action packed book full of sorrows and glee these girls will face their worst fears.


Character Development: 5 stars

Story Line: 5 stars

Readability: 5 stars

Writing style: 5 stars

My enjoyment: 5 stars

Average Star Score: 5 stars

Character Development

My gosh what to say. The main girls in this story grew up so much. The maturity level increases and to be honest its a good change. They still have fun while also knowing what they have to do is very serious.


Story Line

If you don’t cry while reading this book I am seriously worried for you. It is beautifully. And while this book is short, it packs a punch. There is never a dull moment and you keep turning the page wanting more. The page turner of the century.


Readability

Again, my class was reading this with the teacher in second grade. It’s a holocaust book that children of most ages can understand, which is great. I personally own a lot of book about the same topic as this period in time greatly interests me, but this by far is the easiest to understand.


Writing Style

I rarely ever meet a person who has not read one of Lois Lowery’s books. They are all masterpieces from The Giver to The Silent Boy and everything in between. This book is no different. It’s not as mature as many of her most popular books but its still a must read for all ages.


My Enjoyment

I mean, you’ve read this far so you know how much I love this book. This book leaves me speechless every time. There are to many words yet not enough to explain this book. Number the Stars is one of the books thats introduced me to reading and really the main reason i remember second grade. In fact, Im still in contact with that teacher.


This book is a must read for all ages, showing the hard times of the holocaust in such a young story. If you don’t own it, go get it. If you haven’t read it, go to the closet library. It will change your life.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page